Writing Events

Reflection: NaNoWriMo 2014

IMG_3041

So, I took part in National Novel Writing Month last year, in 2014. It is now January and I thought I should reflect on this experience.

This past November I did not manage to reach the goal word count of 50 000 words in 30 days. I did write far more than I have in past attempts. I reached a total of 17 131 words. I had a general average of 800 words a day. Around 20th, however I had a small personal emergency followed by getting sick. After this, I fell off the wagon and did not continue my attempts to write every day. I know there should be no excuses, but that was mine.

Despite the fact that I did not manage to reach word count of finish my novel, I did learn a few things on the way. I learnt how I plot plan best. I managed to write a little every day for almost twenty days in a row. I solved many plot problems I was experiencing with this particular novel.

I found writing every day a challenge. It was difficult to put aside the time on busy days. Some of my friends had difficulty understanding when I pulled out my laptop when we were out and I had nothing to do. Sometimes it was just difficult to find the motivation to keep writing. Some scenes did not excite me.

When I was beginning to struggle writing every day, I realised how important it was for to have a very detailed plot plan organised. I understand some of you out there are pantsers, and no matter how much I would love to be one of you, I cannot get the words out without a detail plan. Next time my plan will be more thorough.

Despite not achieving the 50 000 word goal, I did find the experience important and valuable. I learnt a lot about myself as a writer and as a planner. Best of all I did better than last time. Next time I will do even better.

 

What was your NaNo Experience? What did you learn?

 

2 thoughts on “Reflection: NaNoWriMo 2014

  1. Congrats on exceeding your past NaNo attempts! I agree – writing every day is really difficult, and I am not sure I could sustain that pattern (at least not at the rigorous NaNo pace). I managed to win NaNoWriMo with an 80,000 word manuscript. However, it really burned me out, and I’ve had difficulty starting my writing routine again. Thanks for sharing your experience with it and good luck with your future writing endeavors!

Leave a Reply

