Daunting Concepts · Ink-Stained Frustrations · Technicalities of Writing

Work? Never!

Work? Optional!

If money were out of the equation, would you still work? If yes, why, and how much? If not, what would you do with your free time?

Now this is an interesting question that many of us would probably never actually find out the answer for. If we were so rich we did not have to work, would we? I don’t think I would. Let me explain.

Work is a term that to me, has negative connotations. It to me implies something you don’t want to do, or particularly like, but have to, simply to earn money and thus live. I associate work with an office job or somewhere stressful that I want to escape. It also comes with a boss that is demanding and I might even fear to some extent. It’s also something that I fear losing because of my lack of skills and my mistakes. Work really sounds like something I do not want to do, ever.

I am not opposed to earning money or even doing things to earn money. I certainly don’t want to spend all my days just wasting away in front of a television. Don’t get me wrong I love television and perhaps watch a little too much of it, but I do want to be doing something worthwhile as well.

I want to do things I love doing. I love to write. I love to read. I love to help people and teach people. I love learning. I love spending time with children. I love sewing, and knitting and making things. I love gardening. I love going on walks and enjoying nature. I love to enjoy every aspect of my day, and I could never consider any of these things I love doing, work.

I never want to work whether I am rich or not. I want to earn my way in life by doing things I love, in an environment that I love. In fact, I don’t work right now. Okay, I am not earning that much right now, but I am earning enough. When my writing starts to pay me, I will be well on my way to reaching comfort and style, without working a day in my life.

2 thoughts on “Work? Never!

  1. We are on the same page. I hate work. Not that I am lazy but I love to do the things I love and that is not work but a way of life. I love the way you wrote this piece. What prompted you to choose this topic? How did you find your way into it? Writing for a living is one of the best things you could do with your life. Thanks for the lovely written article.

Leave a Reply

